The Three Sisters

 

 

With a new writing project on the go (details later), I am trying to improve my efficiency.
So recently I have started stand-up working. The computer is now in the utility room where I keep the washing machine because that is what a computer is – a utility. And the very act of standing makes me more focussed on work and less distracted. That’s the theory anyway. I will report on the efficacy of the idea at a later date.

 

To those who don’t mind taking on yet another Direct Debit, Netflix is bringing sumptuous period dramas costing up to £100 million. But there was a time when television companies seemed to gather theatre actors in a painted room , set up some mikes and let them act out a classic play. I don’t have Netflix, neither do I have a TV but my desk top computer has a big screen – bought a few years ago for home studio purposes. There’s no speaker on it so I put it through my guitar amp.

 

I remember some of these plays when they were on the telly the first time round.
Anton Chekhov is good source of TV drama so I browsed YouTube for one of his plays I haven’t previously seen and clicked on The Three Sisters.

 

If you’re used to high standards of cinematography the experience may take some getting used to but I recommend it. The first thing I noticed was the poor sound quality. This improved a little after I turned down the reverb on my amp.

 

It’s a straight ahead production – no gimmickry, just excellent acting getting the very best out of the text. Chekov’s take on life is not full of sunshine and hope. His characters are in the main, beautiful, intelligent, leisured and rich but just can’t quite get a hang on this happiness thing. But they can think and their lines are full of insight

 

Reader, you’re obviously a person of good judgement and taste otherwise you wouldn’t be reading this but if, perish the thought, you happen to be one of those who go woozy inside when you hear the name of a famous actor, I should add that Anthony Hopkins is in it. He sounded a lot more Wesh in those days.

 

So in this holiday period, if you’ve got a couple of hours to spare and really don’t like the idea of being lumbered with another D/D, explore the delights of classic 1970s drama.
Leave a Reply

